We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Daylight And The Dust: Selected Short Stories

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781844084623

Price: £9.99

Select a format:


Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘Frame achieved that supremely difficult task of finding a voice so natural’ JANE CAMPION, GUARDIAN

‘The idea of a new novel by Janet Frame is in itself a delight’ MAGGIE O’FARRELL

‘She is a singular writer. No one is quite like her’ ELEANOR CATTON

The Daylight and the Dust is the most comprehensive selection of Janet Frame’s stories ever published, taken from the four different collections released during her lifetime and featuring many of her best stories. Written over four decades, they come from her classic prize-winning collection The Lagoon and Other Stories, first published in 1952, right up to the volume You Are Now Entering the Human Heart, published in the 1980s. This new selection also includes five works that have not been collected before.

Her themes range from childhood to old age to death and beyond. Within the pages of one book the reader is transported from small town New Zealand to inner-city London, and from realism to fantasy. Janet Frame’s versatility dazzles.

Virago Modern Classics