We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A Green Equinox

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9780349018393

Price: £9.99

Select a format:

ebook

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

While I waited for sleep I retraced the road which brought me to you. Unbelievably it only took six months, equinox to equinox.



This dazzling rediscovered classic, shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 1973, is a heady, witty and seductive exploration of female sexuality – perfect for fans of Iris Murdoch and Brigid Brophy.

***
‘Funny and brave and moving and absolutely bonkers. I love this novel’ CHARLOTTE MENDELSON

‘A transgressive classic . . . intrepid, eccentric, and not giving a damn’ OBSERVER

‘Elizabeth Mavor relishes spirited, unorthodox women, free with their tongues and ready to snap their fingers at convention’ LONDON REVIEW OF BOOKS

Hero Kinoull is an antiquarian bookseller whose sedate life in the picturesque English town of Beaudesert is turned upside down between the spring and autumn equinoxes of a single year. First her quiet but forbidden liaison with Hugh Shafto, the curator of the country’s finest collection of Rococo art, comes to an abrupt halt when she develops an adoration for his straight-talking, do-gooding wife Belle.

But this relationship leads to other, even more unexpected feelings for Belle’s widowed mother-in-law, the majestic Kate Shafto, who spends her days tending her garden and sailing her handmade boats in the waters of the miniature archipelago she’s constructed in a disused gravel pit.

‘A strange little nugget of a novel . . . I’d like any book that could be described as a mix between Beatrix Potter, JG Ballard and Sophocles’ Irish Times

‘A sprawling pleasure (come for the oddly troubled surface of a reclaimed gravel-pit, stay for the tragicomedy of intergenerational queer desire)’ Eley Williams

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Funny and brave and moving and absolutely bonkers. I love this novel
A Green Equinox is a book of astounding precocity in content, imagery, character and style . . . a masterly study of pretension, hypocrisy, and the immeasurable folly of refinement
Times Literary Supplement
Funny and brave and moving and absolutely bonkers. I love this novel
Charlotte Mendelson
Elizabeth Mavor relishes spirited, unorthodox women, free with their tongues and ready to snap their fingers at convention
London Review of Books