Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Extract

Read and Extract from The Virago Book of Witches

Preface The witch: resilient, edgy, awe-inspiring and potent. She never disappears from our culture for long. Iconic celebrities such as Björk and Ariana Grande have claimed an association with Wicca. Witches strut the catwalk with wide-brimmed hats, wearing sultry expressions and dark, strangely haunting tatters or dressed in startling ball-gowns heightening their shadowy mystery. Photographers […]

Read More
Related Categories: Extract, Virago News

Read the prologue from the new novel by Kelly Rimmer, The Things We Cannot Say

It begins with the discovery of a tattered photo, a letter and a tiny leather shoe… World War Two, Poland. Alina and Tomasz are childhood sweethearts. The night before he leaves for college, Tomasz proposes marriage. But when their village falls to the Nazis, Alina doesn’t know if Tomasz is alive or dead. 2019. Life changed beyond […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News

Read and Extract from Tegan and Sara’s Memoir

  High School is Tegan and Sara’s first memoir, chronicling their teenage years during the height of grunge and rave culture in the 1990s in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. The memoir is a bravely honest account of twin sisters growing up down the hall from one another, struggling to figure out their identities, their sexuality, and […]

Read More
Related Categories: Extract, Virago News
Related Tags: , ,

Nobody’s Victim Extract

INTRODUCTION   My name is Carrie Goldberg and I’m a victims’ rights lawyer. Some people call me a “passionate advocate” or a “social justice warrior.” I’d rather be called a ruthless motherfucker. I operate my firm, C.A. Goldberg, PLLC, with one fundamental rule: if one of my clients has been harmed, somebody must pay. It’s […]

Read More
Related Categories: Virago News

Read an extract from Hormonal by Eleanor Morgan

Hormonal by Eleanor Morgan explores everything from contraception to PMS, in relation to anxiety, depression and taboos about hysteria and the ‘hormonal’ woman. It is a compelling portrait of the modern landscape of women and health, showing us how to navigate stigma and misinformation.   Combining her own experiences with extensive research and expert contributions, Eleanor Morgan explores […]

Read More
Related Categories: Virago News
Related Tags: , ,

Read an extract from A Stranger City by Linda Grant

When a dead body is found in the Thames, caught in the chains of HMS Belfast, it begins a search for a missing woman and confirms a sense that in London a person can become invisible once outside their community – and that assumes they even have a community. A policeman, a documentary film-maker and an Irish nurse named Chrissie all respond to the death of the unknown woman in their own ways. London is a place of random meetings, shifting relationships – and some, like Chrissie intersect with many. The film-maker and the policeman meanwhile have safe homes with wives – or do they? An immigrant family speaks their own language only privately; they have managed to integrate – or have they? The wonderful Linda Grant weaves a tale around ideas of home; how London can be a place of exile or expulsion, how home can be a physical place or an idea. How all our lives intersect and how coincidence or the randomness of birth place can decide how we live and with whom.

Read More
Related Categories: Virago News

Exclusive sneak-peek of The First Time I Saw You by Emma Cooper

The First Time I Saw You is the new novel by Emma Cooper, out in ebook on 1st July 2019 and in paperback on 9th January 2020 Lost:Six-foot-two Irish man who answers to the name Samuel McLaughlin. Has weak shins and enjoys show tunes.If found, please return to Sophie Williams. Before Sophie met Samuel she saw […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News
Related Tags: ,

Read An Extract of Nina Laurin’s The Starter Wife

A gripping new psychological thriller, for fans of The Girl on the Train, The Girl Before and The Wife Between Us. Claire Westcott tries to be the perfect wife to Byron but fears she will never measure up to his ex, Colleen. After all, it’s hard to compete with the dead. Colleen went missing eight years ago. Her […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News

Read an exclusive extract from The Swap by Fiona Mitchell

Read an extract from Fiona Mitchell’s gripping and heartbreaking new story, The Swap Two women. Two children. But whose is whose? When two strangers, Tess and Annie, undergo IVF at an American clinic, their embryos are mixed up and each woman gives birth to the wrong child. The women only discover the devastating error three […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News
Related Tags: ,

Read an exclusive extract from The Gift of Friends by Emma Hannigan

From the Number One bestselling author Emma Hannigan comes her new novel, The Gift of Friends, a magical story of love, friendship and hope. Kingfisher Road – a leafy, peaceful street in the town of Vayhill. But there are whispers behind closed doors. Who is moving into Number 10? Engaged to handsome, wealthy Justin Johnston, Danielle […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News
Related Tags: ,

Read the first chapter of The Girl in the Letter by Emily Gunnis

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes, this gripping novel of long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever.A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away. A mystery to be solved. 1956. When Ivy Jenkins falls pregnant she is sent in disgrace to St Margaret’s, a dark, brooding house for unmarried mothers. Her baby […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News

Exclusive sneak-peak of The Garden of Lost and Found by Harriet Evans

The new novel by Sunday Times bestseller Harriet Evans will enchant her fans with this unputdownable and heart-breaking tale of a family ripped apart and the extraordinary house they called home. Harriet writes the most delicious, epic stories from the heart since Maeve Binchy and Kate Morton.Nightingale House, 1919. Liddy Horner discovers her husband, the world-famous […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News
Related Tags: ,

We use cookies to enhance your visit to us. By using our website you agree to our use of these cookies. Find out more.