Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Gollancz News

Gollancz pre-empts debut YA fantasy THE GIRL KING

Rachel Winterbottom, Senior Editor at Gollancz, has bought UK and Commonwealth (ex. Canada) rights in a two-book pre-empt for THE GIRL KING by Mimi Yu from Molly Ker Hawn at The Bent Agency, to be published in Spring 2019 in trade paperback. This YA debut was inspired by East and North Asian histories and follows an […]

Read More
Related Categories: Acquisitions, Gollancz News

Gollancz acquires science fiction murder mystery set on Mars

Gollancz is delighted to announce the acquisition of World Rights to science fiction thriller ONE WAY and its sequel by S.J. Morden. Perfect for fans of Andy Weir’s The Martian and Richard Morgan, ONE WAY is a murder mystery set on the frozen wastes of Mars. Eight astronauts, one Killer, no way home. Gollancz Senior […]

Read More
Related Categories: Acquisitions, Gollancz News

Gollancz acquires hard-hitting military SF thrillers from Gavin G. Smith

Gollancz is delighted to announce the acquisition of three books in a new SF series, The Bastard Legion, from Gavin G. Smith, an author described as ‘an exceptional talent’ by Peter F. Hamilton. Gollancz commissioning editor, Marcus Gipps, bought the rights to three books from Robert Dinsdale at AM Heath. The books will originally be […]

Read More
Related Categories: Gavin G. Smith, Gollancz News

RIP Sheri S. Tepper

We were saddened yesterday to learn of the death of Sheri S. Tepper. Born in 1929, her career followed an unusual path; after publishing several SF poems including ‘Lullaby, 1990’ in Galaxy in 1963, she published nothing else until the 1980s, when her literary output suddenly exploded. Her first novel, King’s Blood Four, was published […]

Read More
Related Categories: Gollancz News
Related Tags:

Gollancz acquires new epic fantasy trilogy from bestselling author Stephen Donaldson

Gollancz is delighted to announce the acquisition of a new fantasy trilogy, The Great God’s War, from Stephen Donaldson, author of the multi-million-selling Chronicles of Thomas Covenant series. Set in a visionary new world in the midst of a magical war, the trilogy follows a prince who embarks on a desperate quest to find a […]

Read More

The Hanging Tree Announcement

Gollancz is delighted to announce the publication of THE HANGING TREE, the sixth book in Ben Aaronovitch’s bestselling Peter Grant series, on November 3rd 2016.  The publication will be supported by a major marketing and publicity campaign and a full UK tour.  News of THE HANGING TREE’s imminent publication will delight Ben Aaronovitch’s legions of […]

Read More
Related Categories: Ben Aaronovitch, Gollancz News

GEORGE R.R. MARTIN’S WILD CARDS IS GOING TO BE A TV SERIES!

You might have heard a little announcement made by a certain behemoth of fantasy this week. If you haven’t, then please forgive our use of capitals for a moment while we shout about it: GEORGE R.R. MARTIN’S WILD CARDS IS GOING TO BE A TV SERIES! Phew, OK, now we’ve caught our breath from dancing […]

Read More
Related Categories: George R.R. Martin, Gollancz News

Gollancz acquires stunning cross-over fantasy series in hotly-fought auction

Gollancz, an imprint of the Orion Publishing Group, is delighted to announce the acquisition of a stunning cross-over fantasy series by debt author, Kristen Ciccarelli. Beginning with ASKARI, the series is perfect for readers who enjoy Victoria Aveyard, Kristin Cashore and Sarah J. Mass. A sweeping epic focused on strong characters, dangerous escapades and poisonous […]

Read More
Related Categories: Acquisitions, Fantasy, Gollancz News

Another Update On The Gollancz Open Submissions

As many have noticed the two-month deadline  we set ourselves for responding to all submissions has passed. We are truly sorry about this as we have been trying our hardest to get through  them, but there are just not enough of us to go through them quickly and still give each one the care and […]

Read More
Related Categories: Gollancz News, Submissions

The Gollancz Festival is Back!

 We are thrilled to be able to tell you that the Gollancz Festival is back!  This year we are working with Foyles Charing Cross Road to bring you two incredible days of events. We will have three different bookshop panel events running from 17th-18th September at Foyles Charing Cross Road. These panel events will be […]

Read More
Related Categories: Gollancz Festival, Gollancz News

Back from Eastercon with big news!

We would like to congratulate Aliette de Bodard on her double win at the British Science Fiction Awards. Aliette won for best novel: The House of Shattered Wings and best short fiction: ‘Three Cups of Grief, by Starlight’. This is the first time a single author has won both best novel and best short fiction […]

Read More
Related Categories: Gollancz Awards, Gollancz News

Gollancz Signs Up Official Colouring Book by Acclaimed Discworld Artist

We are delighted to announce the acquisition of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld Colouring Book a colouring book of line drawings by Paul Kidby, Sir Terry Pratchett’s artist of choice. Gollancz Digital Publisher, Darren Nash, brought the rights to  from Rob Wilkins at Narrativia, who own and control the exclusive multimedia and merchandising rights to all of Sir […]

Read More

Congratulations to Aliette de Bodard, Ian McDonald and Justina Robson!

We’d like to congratulate Aliette de Bodard, Ian McDonald and Justina Robson on their shortlisting for the BSFA Best Novel Award.   Luna by Ian McDonald ‘All the pleasures of a cut-throat soap opera in space’ The Guardian The moon is home to five powerful houses; huge corporations, vying to take control of the moon’s […]

Read More
Related Categories: Gollancz Awards, Gollancz News

Altered Carbon has been sold to Netflix as series of ten 1 hour episodes

We are delighted to share the news that Richard Morgan’s superb instant classic science fiction novel Altered Carbon has been sold to Netflix, as series of ten 1 hour episodes. The series was conceived by showrunner Laeta Kalogridis, who will executive produce alongside Skydance Studio’s David Ellison, Dana Goldberg and Marcy Ross. Richard Morgan will […]

Read More
Related Categories: Gollancz News, Richard Morgan

Tickets to a Gollancz Festival 2015 day for aspiring writers go on sale

Gollancz is delighted to share two substantial updates regarding The Gollancz Festival. Firstly, the full schedule of events, including the topics for discussion and selection of panellists, at the events in Manchester, 16 October, and London, 17 October, is now available at gollanczfestival.com. Secondly, Gollancz is launching an additional Waterstones Piccadilly-based event for at aspiring […]

Read More
Related Categories: Events, Gollancz Festival, Gollancz News

We use cookies to enhance your visit to us. By using our website you agree to our use of these cookies. Find out more.